Foster Youth Services Coordinating Program (FYSCP) Resources and Links

Foster Youth Liaisons, 2019-2020

School District Name Phone Fax Email
Live Oak Shar Ames 475-6333 x209 475-2638 sames@losd.ca
Pajaro Valley Unified Greg Fry 786-2100 x2618 761-6130 gregory_fry@pvusd.net
San Lorenzo Valley Unified Sandi Reimer 336-9678 x114 336-9531 sreimer@slvusd.org
Santa Cruz City Gail Atlansky 429-3410 x215 429-3450 gatlansky@sccs.net
Santa Cruz COE Michael Paynter 466-5729 466-5730 mpaynter@santacruzcoe.org
Scotts Valley Unified Steve Hoy 438-1820 x103 438-2314 shoy@scottsvalleyusd.org
Soquel Union Elementary  Eric Olsen 464-5631 475-5196 eolsen@suesd.org
Bonny Doon Union Elem Mike Heffner 427-2300 427-2800 mheffner@bduesd.org
Happy Valley Elem Michelle McKinny 429-1456 429-6205 mmckinny@santacruz.k12.ca.us
Mountain Elementary Diane Morgenstern 475-6812 x12 464-7200 dmorgenstern@santacruz.k12.ca.us
Pacific Elementary Eric Gross 425-7002 egross@pacificesd.org

*To sign up for a biweekly e-newsletter on all issues pertaining to foster youth and education in Santa Cruz County (FYSCP News), or if you are interested in learning more about the Foster Youth Services Executive Advisory Council please contact Kim Corneille- kcorneille@santacruzcoe.org

CA Foster Youth Education Task Force

CA Foster Youth Education Law Fact Sheets

CA Foster Youth Education Resource Hub

Foster Youth Education Toolkit

Foster Youth Education Rights

Become a Resource (Foster) Parent in Santa Cruz County

Placing Agencies

Family and Children’s Services
To Report Child Abuse – 24 hours A Day Please Call: 831.454.2273
1400 Emeline Avenue – Santa Cruz – 831.454.4222
18 West Beach Street – Watsonville – 831.763.8850

The majority of foster youth have social workers via this agency as their primary link to the court

Santa Cruz County Juvenile Probation Department
3650 Graham Hill Road
Felton, CA 95018-9571
Phone: 831.454.3800
Fax: 831.454.3827

A smaller number of foster youth have a probation officer as their primary link to the court

Counseling Services

Children’s Behavioral Health
The Access Team (includes MERT- Mobile Emergency Response Team)
800.952.2335
1400 Emeline Ave.
Santa Cruz, CA 95060
831.454.4900
1430 Freedom Blvd. Suite B
Watsonville, CA 95076
831.763.8200

Many foster youth have or are eligible for counseling with Children’s Behavioral Health.

Encompass Community Services
Phone: 831.469.1700
380 Encinal St., Suite 200
Santa Cruz, CA 95060
Email: info@EncompassCS.org or contact HERE

Encompass is one of the largest contractors with county providing mental health services.

Transition Age Youth

Transition Age Youth (TAY)/Independent Living Program

AB 2121 graduation waiver form

Higher Education

Cabrillo Guardian Scholars

UCSC Renaissance Scholars

CA College Pathways

Chafee Grant

Financial Aid Guide for CA Foster Youth

State Contacts

California Department of Education – Foster Youth Services Coordinating Programs

This site hosts the state office concerning foster youth and education which oversees K-12 county and district liaisons as well as AB 490.

Advocacy Information

CASA (Court Appointed Special Advocates)
Telephone: 831.761.2956
Fax Number: 831.761.2913
813 Freedom Blvd.
Watsonville, CA 95076

Many foster youth have a CASA. They are often the best, most consistent advocate the foster youth can have.

Youth Advisory Board
A youth-led advisory council that provides community advocacy. Call 831.226.3536 for more info.

CA Foster Care Ombudsperson

If you are experiencing any difficulties or problems at the local level, contact the Foster Care Ombudsperson. This person will help you with the various agencies. This is also an excellent site for a multitude of other resources, such as acquiring a copy of your foster youth verification letter.

Foster Care Help Line
You can also call the Foster Care Helpline. Their toll free number is 1.877.846.1602

Trauma Informed Care

Trauma Informed Practices- What Can Teachers Do?

If your school is interested in learning more about a FREE school site Trauma Informed Practices in Schools (TIPS) training, contact Kim Corneille- kcorneille@santacruzcoe.org

Learn More!

John Burton Advocates for Youth (JBAY) Publications and Guides

The Invisible Achievement Gap