Foster Youth Services Coordinating Program (FYSCP) Resources and Links

Foster Youth Liaisons, 2018-2019

School District Name Phone Fax Email
Live Oak Jennifer Ann 475-6333 x209 475-2638 jann@losd.ca
Pajaro Valley Unified Richard Puente 786-2360 761-6130 richard_puente@pvusd.net
San Lorenzo Valley Unified Sandi Reimer 336-9678 x114 336-9531 sreimer@slvusd.org
Santa Cruz City Greg O’Meara 429-3410 x215 429-3450 gomeara@sccs.net
Santa Cruz COE Michael Paynter 466-5729 466-5730 mpaynter@santacruzcoe.org
Scotts Valley Unified Sharlene Ames 438-1820 x102 438-2314 sransom@scottsvalleyusd.org
Soquel Union Elementary Lurena Brubaker 464-5631 475-5196 lbrubaker@suesd.org
Bonny Doon Union Elem Mike Heffner 427-2300 427-2800 mheffner@bduesd.org
Happy Valley Elem Michelle McKinny 429-1456 429-6205 mmckinny@santacruz.k12.ca.us
Mountain Elementary Diane Morgenstern 475-6812 x12 464-7200 dmorgenstern@santacruz.k12.ca.us
Pacific Elementary Eric Gross 425-7002 egross@pacificesd.org

Children’s Law Center of California

Foster Youth Rights Brochure

Become a Foster Parent in Santa Cruz County

Support for Resource Parents

Placing Agencies

Family and Children’s Services-Child Protective Services
To Report Child Abuse – 24 hours A Day Please Call: 831.454.2273
1400 Emeline Avenue – Santa Cruz – 831.454.4222
12 West Beach Street – Watsonville – 831.763.8850
The majority of foster youth have social workers via this agency as their primary link to the court

Santa Cruz County Juvenile Probation Department
Juvenile Probation Department
3650 Graham Hill Road
Felton, CA 95018-9571
Phone: 831.454.3800
Fax: 831.454.3827
A smaller number of foster youth have a probation officer as their primary link to the court

Counseling Services

Children’s Mental Health
The Access Team
800.952.233 or 831.454.4900
1400 Emeline Ave.
Santa Cruz, CA 95060 or
831.763.8990
12 West Beach St
Watsonville, CA 95076
Many foster youth have or are eligible for counseling with Children’s Mental Health.

Encompass Community Services
Phone: 831.469.1700
195 Harvey West Blvd
Santa Cruz, CA 95060
Email: info@EncompassCS.org
Encompass is one of the largest contractors with county providing mental health services.

Higher Education

UCSC Smith Renaissance Society
Phone: 831.459.2552
This program offers a variety of assistance to foster youth from scholarships to mentoring to hosting events.

State Contacts

California Department of Education – Foster Youth Services
This site hosts the state office concerning foster youth and education which oversees k-12 county and district liaisons as well as AB490.

California Community Colleges
This is a fairly new initiative supporting foster youth at every community college in the state with a designated advocate. See the link for the full list.

Legal and Advocacy Information

CASA (Court Appointed Special Advocates)
Telephone: 831.761.2956
Fax Number: 831.761.2913
Address 294 Green Valley Road, Suite 326
Watsonville, CA 95076
Many foster youth have a CASA worker. They are often the best, most consistent advocate the foster youth can have.

California Youth Connection
California Youth Connection (CYC) is a statewide youth run organization for former and current foster youth ages 14 to 24. CYC uses the voice of foster youth to advocate for change in the foster care system.

Foster Care Help Line
You can also call the Foster Care Helpline. Their toll free number is 1.877.846.1602